Search This Blog

Loading...

Sunday, June 24, 2012

60 IN 60

Today's ISTE hands-on workshop is called "60 in 60: 60 Web Tools in 60 minutes".  However, the class is three hours long.  Is that 180?  ....I digress...  It's still a great compilation of ideas and resources from Philadelphia's Brandon Lutz.


60 web Tools in 60 Minutes ISTE Workshop Cheat Sheet

1.     Videolicious   http://videolicious.com/
three steps to edit a video clip taken with mobile device

2.     Prezi    http://prezi.com/
presentations - engaging

3.     Poll Everywhere   http://www.polleverywhere.com/
free text polls

4.     Edmodo    http://www.edmodo.com/
parent and student learning portal

5.     Present Me    http://present.me/
slides + video - simple sharing

6.     Flubaroo   http://www.flubaroo.com/
Google docs automatic assignment grading add-on

7.     Gooru Learning    http://www.goorulearning.org/
search engine for learning- beta

8.     Spelling City   http://www.spellingcity.com/
add spelling lists, play games with words 

9.     Kid Zui    http://www.kidzui.com/
filtered for kids

10.  Little Bird Tales   http://littlebirdtales.com
draw or scan images, create a story with audio

11.  Star Fall    http://www.starfall.com/
great primary phonics/reading

12.  Hippo Campus    http://www.hippocampus.org/
learning tutorial videos pulled from variety of sources

13.   Course Hero   http://www.coursehero.com/
mostly free college courses and other courses with learning paths

14.  Math Train    http://mathtrain.tv/ 
math tutorials

15.  Side Vibe    http://www.sidevibe.com/
web quest with video on left and instructions on right- same page


16.  Jog the Web   http://www.jogtheweb.com
social bookmarking site that allows website to launch in a frame 

17.  Hackasaurus   http://hackasaurus.org/
html code source remixer  

18.  Simple Meet    http://www.simplemeet.me/
quick chat room with no user names

19.  BlockSite (Addon) Firefox    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/blocksite/
Firefox add-on allows blocking of certain sites locally

20.  Class Dojo    http://www.classdojo.com/
classroom management- iphone and ipad compatible with reports and parent access

21.  Mail Chimp   http://mailchimp.com/
 easy email newsletters template site

22.  Drop Box    https://www.dropbox.com/
online file sharing

23.  dushare   http://dushare.com/#
send items in zip format using a hyperlink

24.  iBooks Author    http://www.apple.com/ibooks-author/
Apple Lion ipad books only- create virtual textbooks

25.  Remind 101    http://remind`101.com/
text message your class using a computer where people sign up on their own & opt in

26.   Duolingo   http://duolingo.com/
spanish skill tree- foreign lang education  

27.  Boom Writer    http://boomwriter.com/
writing grades 4 up, free educator account, writing prompts and class books

28.  Scrible    http://www.scrible.com/
take an article from web and annotate it, add notes, get unique url to share it

29.  Paper Rater    http://www.paperrater.com
writing is scored, given word count info, suggestions,  and checked for plagairism

30.  NBC Learn    http://www.nbclearn.com/portal/site/learn/k-12
archives from NBC is paid, free has great teaching support clips

31.  SpeakPipe   https://www.speakpipe.com/ 
add voicemail link to your blog or site (see right side of my blog and send a message to me!)

32.  Capzles    http://www.capzles.com/
images organized and shared on social, web, email and a comment component to collaborate

33.  Docs Teach    http://docsteach.org/
high res images from national archives- use to create  lessons and activities, email component

34.  Useful Charts    http://usefulcharts.com/
 anything charts

35.  Desktop QR Code Reader    http://www.dansl.net/blog/?p=256
scan qr codes with computer webcam

36.  QR Stuff    http://www.qrstuff.com/
laundry list of items you can embed in a qr code

37. QR Voice    http://qrvoice.net/
 embed your voice or computerized voice message in a qr code

38.  ptable    http://ptable.com/
interactive periodic table with wikipedia/podcasts/etc. embedded

39.  screenr    http://www.screenr.com/
instant screencasts

40.  anymeeting   http://anymeeting.com/
 web conference hosting- up to 200 members free

41.  Jeopardy Labs    http://jeopardylabs.com/
set up quick jeopardy game

42.  Study Blue    http://www.studyblue.com/
interactive flash cards and app or web based

43.  Pearltrees    http://www.pearltrees.com
 visual bookmarking sites- check out the 60 in 60 section

44.  Spaaze    http://www.spaaze.com/
virtual cork board

45.  Free Sound    http://www.freesound.org/
free sounds to use in podcasting video editing, etc.- BUT anyone can add a sound- beware

46.  Vocaroo    http://vocaroo.com/
 voice recording

47.  ifttt    http://ifttt.com/
if > then -social sites connect together-- post to posterous and it will tweet this for you

48.  Blabberize    http://blabberize.com/
make a picture talk like jib jab

49.  PhotoSynth   http://photosynth.net/default.aspx
 shoot wraparound panorama photos

50.  Jelly Cam    http://www.jellycam.co.uk/
stop  motion photography site - download to desktop

51.  ToonTastic   http://launchpadtoys.com/toontastic/
cartoon maker 

52.  Producteev    http://www.producteev.com/
all mobile devices and computer- keep track of tasks and priorities - integrate Google cal

53.  Reflection   http://www.reflectionapp.com/
reflect ipad or iphone to desktop.  trial is 10 minutes free 

54.  Tweet Chat    http://tweetchat.com/
 concept of twitter but not real twitter- hash tags, etc. for groups

55.  pen.io    http://pen.io/
web page creation for students using info and pics they collect

56.  Sumdog   http://www.sumdog.com/
math games with competitions, kids have secure accounts and compete 

57.  Smore   http://www.smore.com/
new- newsletter site just out of beta-  

58.  Pinterest    http://pinterest.com/
post links to images - social sharing or presentation planning

59.  Mentimeter    http://mentimeter.com/
 free easy audience response system

60.  Incredibox    http://www.incredibox.com
create a cool beat  - can also save sound for podcast or video using screenflow

REFLECTION:
61.  SURVEY Please click this link and share your thoughts!  http://tinyurl.com/60in6012

Note: Screen Flow http://www.telestream.net/screen-flow/ lets you record audio internally in computer, not externally through speakers.  99.00 cost
Try this with GPB Georgia History videos that can't be downloaded.